Home » Books » The Evangelical Calvinist is Reading Jacobus Arminius and Some Other Stuff

The Evangelical Calvinist is Reading Jacobus Arminius and Some Other Stuff

I am just starting to read a brand new translation of Jacobus Arminius’ Declaration of Sentiments in W. Stephen Gunter’s Arminius and His Declaration of Sentiments: An Annotated Translation with Introduction and jacobus_arminiusTheological Commentary (Waco, TX: Baylor University Press, 2012). I’ll let you know what I find out.

I am also reading another book I’ve been wanting to read for a bit now; Kenneth J. Stewart’s Ten Myths About Calvinism: Recovering the Breadth of the Reformed Tradition (Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2011). You’ll be hearing some things about this one too, I’m sure.

And then I am revisiting a book that I read some essays from in the past, a book edited by Maarten Wisse, Marcel Sarot & Willemien Otten, entitled: Scholasticism Reformed: Essays in Honor of Willem J. van Asselt (Netherlands: Brill, 2010). I bet you can’t wait to hear from this one 😉 !

And finally, something that is directly in the realm of biblical studies; Francis Watson’s Paul and the Hermeneutics of Faith (London • New York: T&T Clark International, 2004). I look forward to this one alongside the others! I hope I can make it through this one in the next 6 weeks (it is rather long, 500 pages). You should expect to hear from this one too.

I often check out books from my theo library that I don’t always have the time to totally finish. I am hoping that with this new crop that is different! I don’t even know why I am driven to study and read like this sometimes; all I can think is that the Lord has wired me this way, and thus it is my favorite way to think that I could potentially come to know him even better as I partake of the riches that he has bequeathed to his church through her teachers. The only missing piece to this is that I need someone to share this with, and since I don’t have a classroom of my own; well, you all are the ones I share with then.

Let me clarify something about my blogging, at least. I have recently receive an email from someone, and one of the reasons he mentioned that he does not blog is because for some reason he thinks it has to be of the upmost quality (writing), with the apparent precision and accessibility of a formal writing project or teaching session (or something). I don’t approach my blogging that way, you’ll have to forgive me. I use this place more than anything as a place to cycle through my raw thinking as I read things. I try to write in an interesting and provocative way, but that is not always the foremost impulse that shapes what comes out in my posts; my own understanding of the material under my consideration is what is mostly at stake. Just to be frank. I am thankful for all of you readers, but just so you know what drives my blogging, and then the subsequent stuff you end up reading here :-).

2 thoughts on “The Evangelical Calvinist is Reading Jacobus Arminius and Some Other Stuff

Comments are closed.