Jesus Is Coming

Something from Karl Barth’s theology that has had a profound effect upon me, is his idea of Revelation, and  how it is event, and event in an ongoing and always already present way. I am not, in this post, trying to engage in heavy theology, per se; but instead, I am just going to be reflecting on the impact that this kind of (what I think is Biblical) conception of God’s Revelation has in real life.

To be very honest, we live a very unsettled life (and I mean my family). We have been faced with major trials and tribulations for years and years. Whether that be prolonged periods of unemployment, underemployment; whether that be health issues; whether that be vocational issues (in the sense that I am working jobs that are not family-friendly relative to provision and/or scheduling issues); and a host of other unnamed things that are ongoing.

So often I think we as Christians live in a state of waiting—and this is a definite aspect of the Christian life, i.e. waiting on the LORD—as if we are waiting for life to happen; as if we are waiting for all of our aspirations to be met; as if. And this kind of mode of being can be absolutized in a way that begins to stultify what is happening presently. This posture can have an adverse affect upon is, as if we are simply waiting for Jesus to come again and fix all of our problems; indeed, I am definitely waiting and excited about this reality—when we will walk by sight no longer just by faith (II Corinthians 5.7). But what is often lost in this posture, is the stark reality that life is happening to us now. As Christians, where we are at right now God has providentially ordered in a such a way that this is life. We aren’t just waiting for something to happen, it is happening. We aren’t just waiting for Jesus to come again, He is coming again every second of every day in our daily lives and circumstances. His future is breaking into His present in our lives on a daily basis, such that the hope that we look forward to is something that is shaping our daily lives and present reality; and thus, ideally, charging it with the hope and redemption that we look forward to fully realizing at His second coming.

Anyway, I just wanted to offer this reflection; even as incoherent and docile as it might be.

5 comments

  1. Thanks, Bobby. Good to remember that even though we wait, Jesus is coming every moment. It is a dynamic, ongoing, moving relationship that encompasses our being. All things were made by and for Jesus. Love that “for” part. We were made for Jesus. That should bring some daily comfort as we wait. Prayers for you and yours as you wait on him, wait with him.

    Like

  2. Steve,

    🙂

    Jerome,

    This is a comforting reality, I don’t think I did justice for it in my post; I will have to try again when I have more time in the future. Thanks, brother!

    Like

  3. Or, you could turn to Hebrews where it says Jesus [now] is seated at the right hand of the father interceding for us. Or one could go to Paul in Ephesians where he says we have been already blessed with EVERY Spiritual blessing in heaven, or other places where he says we are a new creation, a resurrection people, new man, etc. having been transferred from “this present evil age” into the kingdom of his Son. What we will some day have “by sight” we already [and REALLY] have by faith even though we are for now for a little while a people in the wilderness.

    Like

  4. Mark,

    Your comment comes off very snarky, and would probably been better if you had remained silent on this one. I have read Hebrews and Paul etc. literally hundreds of times over the last 18 years; indeed, if what Barth was providing grammar for was not present in the text and from the reality of Christ’s life, then who cares—I don’t. But, Barth’s way of saying it has provided a window into the implications of Scripture’s teaching that I did not have resource to in the past. Sure, the Holy Spirit has comforted me with Christ’s deep abiding presence in my life in numerous numerous ways, and before I ever had even heard of Barth. But in contrast to the dispensational approach I had for years (and even the progressive dispy approach), what Barth is communicating (from the TEXT) is much more comforting.

    Anyway, I am not sure about the motivation of your comment, but I don’t like the tone of it.

    Like

Comments are closed.