Dormant, The Evangelical Calvinist is still Here, But …

… But this blog is going to go dormant until I feel like writing in this mode again. I am pretty burnt out from blogging, at least in the way that The Evangelical Calvinist has become known for. I am still blogging, of course, just in a different way, a different style; and so to make sure this distinction is clear I have started or repurposed another blog to serve these purposes. I have explained my rationale at this other blog here: click

The blog address is this: solabible.wordpress.com

Sleeping_Bear

6 comments

  1. I would hope, since you and your mate, wrote a book on ‘The Evangelical Calvinism’ (Calvinist), that you would hold course somewhat! WE may disagree on some details (my neo-Calvinism, etc.), but who knows, perhaps this kind of middle position is more correct? See btw, Vern Poythress’s new book: Logic, etc. … here is a classic Western approach to the subject to my mind.

    Like

  2. Good mate! And I am closer to your position also, but I am still working on my “neo-Calvinism”. Reading and working on Barth himself, especially on his position of his “nein” to Natural Theology, has been very helpful to see his place in Reformed theology. He is even more radical here than Calvin! Though I am still having problems with Barth’s philosophy behind the biblical text as he sees it, and I am not sure I will ever solve that? But once again checking T.F. Torrance’s book: The Trinitarian Faith, etc., has been a blessing! I think I have read both of TFT’s books on the Trinity at least twice. I know I simply love my hardbound copy, with dust-jacket (T&T Clark, First Edition 1988) of The Trinitarian Faith! The hardback copy has the color plate of the Icon of Saint Athanasius the Great, with The Niceno-Constantinoplitan Creed on the other side. This is my favorite TFT book! However, getting evangelical Christians to read it, even so-called pastors is no easy deal!

    Like

  3. Hi Fr Robert,

    Yeah, I have some problems with Barth’s exegetical conclusions, but in general I, of course, really like him! I am finding John Webster to be a better fit for me; Barthian, but still Trad (even more than TFT in ways). And I agree, getting folk to read Torrance is no easy task.

    Like

  4. Hey Bobby: I have and have read John Webster’s Barth, (Second Edition). Indeed perhaps the easiest read and most approachable to Barth’s theology. And indeed TFT was his own “Barthian” for sure. I will always remember when I plowed thru Barth’s whole CD (once in my life!), I still have his whole CD, and read it in places, as I find the need. Getting a handle on Barth in many places is always a challenge, but as I have said, he is surely a modern Church Father! His negative position on Natural Theology is most certainly one of his most radical positions, but fits well his central theology of Christ as the great “Elect-one” Himself, (Isa. 42: 1).

    Btw, if you get a chance, see John Thompson’s book: The Holy Spirit in the Theology of Karl Barth -1991, so it has been around over 20 years, (Thompson is himself an Irishman), and member of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland. He has actually written several books on Barth’s theology.

    Like

Comments are closed.