On Blogging with Drama and Passion

Life is dramatic and passionate; life brings suffering, tribulation, and death. And so I like reading bloggers who blog out of this kind of mode, a mode that flows from this reality. There is definitely a place for writing with dispassionate technicalness, but usually I resonate more with writers who have a heart that is obviously burning with and from the love of Christ. I enjoy reading people who are transparent. We all know that behind these screens, our lives have twists and turns that are worthy of the deepest passion of all; the passion taken up in God’s life in Christ, the passion of the via dolorosa. So why pretend like we have it all together? None of us do! Maybe this is why I still like Augustine so much. He writes with a passion, which includes Confessions; his theology is one of prayer and doxology. I know most of us as good American Individualists like to hold things close to the vest, but I find this strange. True, we don’t want to spill every detail of our lives all over these screens for the whole worldwide web to see, but at the same time, I think it is more fitting for Christians to be real, to be passionate, transparent, and for each other, as Christ is for us.

I just think blogging is better when it is real. Ironically, half of my posts probably seem pretty abstract–in regard to their material locution. And maybe this illustrates something; I am not suggesting, by this post, that being passionate means that we don’t engage with topics that seem to fly at a very high altitude. But what I am suggesting is that we understand that even our most erudite and dispassionate posts, I think, ought to be framed and oriented by a deep and abiding love of Christ. I just think it is this frame, this burning heart that ought to be apparent in our writing.

I have no idea why I am posting this, but why not …

