What It Means to be a Christian For Me

It is late at night, I just got off of my swing-shift (the shift I am working this week at work), and I feel like writing. I don’t have anything in particular that I want to write about, so I am just going to flow a bit. I am going to write from the heart about some things that have been on my heart as of late, and I am going to do so in the tone of conversation – I am feeling passionate for Jesus at the moment, in an intense way, and usually when I feel that way I have to tell someone about it so you all are it.

What does it mean to be a Christian to me? It means to be in an intimate relationship with God in Jesus Christ; it means participating in the divine Triune life, in the center of that life in the dearly beloved Son of the Father; it means having the capacity to live from beyond myself ecstatically; it means that I am in this world, but of the Father’s world in the Son who is for the world by the Spirit; it means that I am not my own but belong to the Father, as the Son belongs to the Father by the Holy Spirit; it means that I can live for others and not worry about living for myself; it means that whether I live, or whether I die, I am the Lord’s; it means that I have an opportunity to do genuine good in the world, because the ground of my life is good in Jesus Christ, who alone is good; it means that when I look at the chaos in the world I know that its crookedness has been made straight, and that that I am just waiting for that straight to realize himself at the second coming of the Son of Man; it means that whether or not I have cancer or am cancer free I am the Lord’s; it means that I can love my family from within the family of God; it means that when I am weak he is strong; it means that I don’t have to live a performance based life, but instead a life that has been performed for me in the Son. It means much more, but you get the picture.

That’s all I have for the night, good night. Pax Christi (peace of Christ!)

One comment

Comments are closed.