‘First Love’, Sweetness

I just was listening to an interview with an actress from a new grunewald_crucifixion_phixr-2.jpgfavorite mini-series of mine on TV; i.e. The Walking Dead. She was talking about the sweetness and excitement of first-love relative to her in-story relationship with ‘Glenn.’ Anyway, this interview and the idea of ‘first-love’ made me think of Jesus; who else? In particular it made me think of what Jesus called the church of Ephesus back to, her ‘first love.’ The revelator writes of this encounter:

I know thy works, and thy labour, and thy patience, and how thou canst not bear them which are evil: and thou hast tried them which say they are apostles, and are not, and hast found them liars: And hast borne, and hast patience, and for my name’s sake hast laboured, and hast not fainted. Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love. Revelation 2:2-4

I remember when I first met my wife-to-be, there was that spark, that newness and freshness, that excitement about being in that first-love with her. Everything seemed as if time was just suspended and nothing else mattered except being with her. And even though real life was happening all around us, even during that time, nothing else took priority to this love, this first-love that I began to share with her.

Similarly, analogically, I can remember the pure rush of excitement of falling in love with Jesus. A passion brewed in my heart for him in ways that were unharnessed from anything else but being with and knowing him. He consumed my every waking thought, and determined my every step each day. All I wanted to do is share this first-love that I was experiencing with him with others, with everyone! It was this ‘first love’ that took priority over everything else; it was all that mattered!

This experience, whether between human beings, or between God and humans in Christ should take priority over everything else. We should keep returning to this love. Notice, when Jesus is attempting to woo his church at Ephesus, he isn’t necessarily calling them back to certain feelings (although those are there and should not be diminished intellectualistically), he is calling them to a life of repentance; of coming back to him and renewing their vows with him over and again, afresh and anew every day.

First love is sweet! I pray everyone gets to experience that with the lover of the world, Jesus Christ!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “‘First Love’, Sweetness

  1. I’d like to open a “can-o’-worms”. This is the second post in which you have praised worldly entertainments and mentioned your involvement with them – most Christians seem to share your enthusiasm (see Christianity Today issue after issue as an example). I respect your heart, intelligence, and biblical understanding, so please consider devoting a blog to giving a reasoned/biblical defense (if that’s the right word – you’re not on trial!) for such involvement. What is/has been the affect of TV, movies, etc. on the Christian life and the strength of the Church? I would like to hear your perspective if you have time.

    Like

  2. Steve, like I said in my post, one of them, I haven’t typically watched many TV shows or mini-series. But recently I have watched a few because of Netflix.

    I don’t really understand your question. I see no need for a defense of anything here. I don’t advocate watching or listening to anything uncritically. As you will have noticed I have been filtering through my engagement with The Walking Dead through a theological grid. So maybe that’s how we engage with things that are intended to be entertaining. We do so critically, at least I do, I can’t help that.

    I think as Barth notes there are secular parables out there that reflect, still, God’s reality because of the imago Dei despite itself. I see God’s hand underlying all of reality because of the Barthian doctrine of election I follow. The world is God’s world, yet! That doesn’t mean that there isn’t reprehensible stuff in it, of course there is … look at us!

    I don’t believe though in an us versus them mentality, I believe that Christ is for us, the world; and we need to shed light on the darkness in it. But we still live in this world, and so even as we live in it we ought to do that intentionally and thoughtfully. But I don’t believe in a legalistic fundy Gospel of disengagement.

    The story line of The Walking Dead is intriguing, to say the least! I don’t see how that is sinful to enjoy good stories. There are also interesting world views and ethical principles underwriting The Walking Dead, and it is good to think about those critically and to see where the “world” is at in regard to that.

    To say that I am praising these shows is to put words into my mouth; that is an extreme way to characterize my enjoyment of these shows.

    Why do you think it is wrong to watch shows like this Steve?

    Maybe it would make you feel better to know that I don’t listen to “secular” music, but even with that I am not sure the “Christian” music I listen to is any better.

    I guess I just find your question strange and Fundy.

    Like

  3. Pingback: In “Defense” of ‘Being Worldly’ from Christ | The Evangelical Calvinist

Comments are closed.