Some Thoughts on Planned Parenthood and Its Reception

The Center for Medical Progress’ YouTube video featuring an undercover meeting with the director of Planned Parenthood’s senior director of medical services, Dr. Deborah Nucatola, has stunned many today (July 14th, 20015). In the video The Center for Medical Progress dispatched two actors who posed as interested buyers of aborted fetus (baby) body parts. In the video, Nucatola plannedmakes very clear that Planned Parenthood is in such a business, and that it would be no problem for them (PP) to provide these buyers with whatever body parts these potential “buyers” wanted (including livers, hearts, and various other tissues and organs).

And of course, rightly so, this video has once again reminded everyone what we have learnt to live with ever since Roe V. Wade and the legalization of abortion. We know it is there (abortion); we know millions upon millions of babies are being mutilated and murdered every year through abortion, but it is as if, as if to cope, we have collectively attempted to not dwell on what appears to be an impossible evil to ever overcome (through legal maneuvering etc.). And so when confronted, once again, with this kind of reprehensible darkness that clouds our nation (among many other evils), we shudder in horror and disbelief. We call for the defunding of Planned Parenthood by our government, and act once again as if we never realized that the trafficking of human body parts and tissues hasn’t been an ongoing reality in the abortion industry.

It is this that I am trying to highlight in this post; this idea that we as evangelical Christians are somehow shocked in horrid disbelief. As if we never realized that such things took place, and now as a result of this video we ought to push for the defunding of Planned Parenthood! Are you kidding me?! Yes, I agree, Planned Parenthood ought to be defunded, and they ought to be thrown into jail, all of them, as mass murderers. Planned Parenthood’s history started with its founder Margaret Sanger, and her eugenic vision of sanitizing the world of all of the unlovely and unwanted. Sanger wrote, “The most merciful thing that a large family does to one of its infant members is to kill it.”[1] Planned Parenthood’s very genesis has been rooted in systemic evil and Darwinian social ethics (thus eugenics) from the very beginning; Sanger’s vision was to erase the world of the poor and weak among us (you know ‘survival of the fittest’). So it only makes sense that a century later that the organization that she founded has come full circle and devised the most heinous and calloused of ways of not only exterminating the weakest and most vulnerable among us (the unborn baby), but that they have also figured out to make a major profit off of it; not only by procuring Federal (tax) funded monies, but also, as this undercover video reveals, by way of selling fetuses and babies (their body parts, tissues, etc.) to the highest bidders.

Again, I simply wonder though why this is surprising to any evangelical Christian. We have all known that this has been the ugly reality (in regard to Planned Parenthood) for years and years. Yes, we might be being confronted once again with the repulsive reality that we would rather not dwell upon, but I guess I just don’t understand the shock and awe and apparent surprise of all of this. I guess the best thing that this video can do is once again reignite the drive and motivation in all of us who claim to be pro-life to give this reality its rightful attention once again! At the very most it ought to cause us to pray to God to have mercy on us, and most importantly upon these unborn babies who are being slaughtered and mutilated in holocaustic form right in front of our faces everyday!
[1] Margaret Sanger, Women and the New Race  (Eugenics Publ. Co., 1920, 1923).

 

3 comments

  1. Hi Bobby I like and follow your posts and am in the Karl Barth discussion group.

    Full disclosure – I haven’t watched the video, but I did a bit of digging and apparently some women ask for their aborted foetus to be donated to research. The clinic prepares the tissue for this and companies/universities etc. can buy tissue for research. The fees for such tissue is only around $100-150, so it doesn’t seem to be profit driven (I’m guessing that it’s close to cost), which is surprising in America’s medical system.

    Then the argument goes into eugenics, which my main argument against is that even if the founder’s reason for setting up Planned Parenthood was about eugenics, the motivation of women attending the clinic probably isn’t.

    Also remember that the creators of the video itself were biased.

    That’s my emotionless argument against the main points raised in the article, I’ve put aside the ethics of abortion and research on embryonic tissue and just focussed on the way the article was written. The problem with writing like this is that it makes me argue against my own viewpoint!

    The use of emotive language “eugenics”, “millions upon millions a day” (a massive exageration) and “holocaustic” provokes the opposite response in me than what the writer intended – I get angry at the author rather than the subject.

    It seems to me that the purpose of the article is only to shock rather than promote debate about the ethics of the transaction in the video, because that is actually quite a complicated minefield.

    What do you think?

    Like

  2. Bobby , :

    Just to clarify, I don’t necessarily disagree with the author, just his methods; I think a more grown up approach to this difficult subject is needed the author ended up doing little more than name calling, but dressed it up in paragraphs.

    Perhaps the article could have been written under a title such as “aborted embryonic tissue used for research” and then discussed the Biblical viewpoint on this rather than a shock title accusing people of pure profit. I’m sure that profit exists in the abortion system, as it does in the medical system; the morallity of both is dubious.

    An article from a biblical perspective with the reasons against abortion and using the cells and tissue for research would be interesting, as would the ethics about using any medicines or techniques that come from said research would be extremely interesting. Within these subjects many, many ethical grey areas that I don’t know the answers to and I don’t think that outrage answers these. I don’t if this exists but a list of medical techniques and medicines that have links to this type of research would be useful so a Christian (or anyone with similar ethics in this area) could refuse treatment would be useful – the effect of this on the marketplace might make drug companies rethink their methods.

    So that would take away the demand part of this transaction. As for supply, education seems to be key; in the USA, the States where abstinence based sex education is in the curriculum have higher abortion rates than those that don’t. The States with abstinence based sex education are the ones who are most against abortion (I think they governers, parents and educators are stuck between a rock and a hard place – they feel it is wrong to teach about sex and to be seen as allowing or even encouraging sex, but by not teaching it, worse things happen).

    It’s an absolute mess.

    And I don’t think outrage helps. Which is an unusual viewpoint for me – your idea of care and support seems better.

    So I hope that I’ve approached this subject fairly. I pull apart all news stories like this. This is why I’m angry all the time. …………and when I say I pull apart all news stories like this, I don’t mean all news stories on this topic. I mean every news story I read. Hence the anger. I’m exhausted! I also hope I haven’t put too much bias in my own writing.

    Like

  3. Hi Andrew,

    Thanks for being a reader here!

    Ultimately, and I’m going to cut to the chase … and be very terse!

    I think the response from your colleague is, well, flat-footed and naive. It is very biblical to be emotional, firm, and to stand our ground in the face of utter and obvious evil. Sometimes reasoning is unnecessary; instead a flat out contradictory response to the evil is called for. If abortion, the selling of babies’ body parts, etc. is not self-evidently evil enough then there remains no room for reasoning about anything.

    I see how your friend is trying to approach this issue; as a noble respectful person of differing viewpoints. But again, that is out of context in this instance! My hope is not to convince people in favor of abortion to reject their intellectual and political viewpoints on this issue. My hope is that they will come to Jesus Christ for that is the only thing that will or can remove the scales from their un-ethical and immoral eyes … it is the only reality that will do that for anyone.

    Using language like holocaustical etc is totally apropos! Has your friend not seen the pictures of aborted babies piled on top of each other?? Their limbs, heads (if not already crushed) and other body parts packed into drums etc?

    Anyway, Andrew, your friend is in left-field on this one; I don’t have the patience to talk to such folk … sorry. I can’t really offer anything constructive on this one for you.

    Like

Comments are closed.