The Positive God of Bernard of Clairvaux, Revealed in Jesus

The God revealed in Jesus Christ elucidated by Bernard of Clairvaux.

bernardOnce God was incomprehensible and inaccessible, invisible and entirely unthinkable. But now he wanted to be seen, he wanted to be understood, he wanted to be known. How was this done, you ask? God lay in a manger and lay on the Virgin’s breast. He preached on a mountain, prayed through the night, and hung on a cross. He lay pale in death, was free among the dead, and was master of hell. He rose on the third day, showed the apostles the signs of victory where nails once were, and ascended before their eyes to the inner recesses of heaven. . . . When I think on any of these things, I am thinking of God, and in all these things he is now my God.[1]

[1] Bernard of Clairvaux, Sermo in nativitate Beatae Mariae: de Aquaducto, ed. J. Leclerq and H. Rochais, S. Bernardi Opera 5 (Rome: Cistercienses, 1968), 11 cited by Michael Allen in, Justification.

2 comments

  1. Nathanael · ·

    I know it is not related to this post but I thought you might be interested in Bruce McCormack’s thoughts on the Wheaton kerflufle:

    Like

  2. Nathanael,

    Yes, thank you, I had already seen this. I am actually going to post a link to it via a post here at the blog. Thanks!

    Like