A Lurker Reveal Post

This is a lurker reveal post. If you have been reading here or visiting here regularly for any time at all, and you see this post, let me know by simply saying “hi” in the comments (if you feel adventurous you can even say a little bit about yourself). I used to do posts like this every now and then in the past to give folks a chance to reveal themselves a bit; it also serves as an encouragement to me to let me know I’m not just writing posts for the ether alone. 😉

This entry was posted in Housekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to A Lurker Reveal Post

  1. Joe Houghton says:

    Hi

    I have been reading your blog for about a year. I live in Preston, England and work as a school Chaplain in a Church of England state school. Previously I worked for 8yrs as youth worker at a large conservative evangelical anglican church in Sheffield.

    I have loved reading the blog and it has helped me continue on my thinking with regards the doctrine of our glorious triune God and applying to many other aspects of theology. I find it refreshing to read a blog that start place for knowledge of God is the incarnate Son rather than some abstract concepts. As I regularly find myself clashing against this approach to God.

    Thanks for all you are writing – it hasn’t fallen on deaf ears. At least not with me.

    Joe H

    Like

  2. Neil Riley says:

    I have been reading your blog for several years and enjoy, in particular, posts that deal with T F Torrance’s work and perspectives. Keep up the good work.
    Neil R

    Like

  3. stanrock says:

    I left a few comments here a long time ago, but quickly realized that I confused you as much as you confused me. Have been lurking ever since, and reading new posts as they arrive.

    Like

  4. Phil Lueck says:

    Good ,Morning Bobby,
    It is 3:55 AM CST and I couldn’t sleep so I opened my email and found your “Lurker Post.”
    I can’t say how long I have been receiving your blog, but is has been a number of years.
    I should first tell you that Paul Louis Metzger is one of my former students at Northwestern College (now the University of Northwestern – St. Paul).
    I am thoroughly evangelical, but I am appreciative of the post-conservative and post-liberal perspective. I am also a TF Torrance fan and appreciative of Barth, though not “Barthian.” I call myself a “cautious, eclectic gleaner.”
    I have enjoyed and benefitted from your blogs and encourage you to keep up your contributions!
    Pax Vobiscum,
    Phil Lueck

    Like

  5. Bobby Grow says:

    Joe,

    Hello, thanks for introducing yourself! Glad to hear that the blog has benefited you, awesome! Blessings.

    Like

  6. Bobby Grow says:

    Neil,

    Hello, great to hear from you and thanks for revealing yourself. Thanks for the encouragement, and I plan on writing many many more Torrance inspired posts in the days and years to come; Lord willing! Blessings.

    Like

  7. Bobby Grow says:

    Stan,

    Hello, yes, I remember our exchanges. Thanks for revealing that you’re still present. I think, really, we probably disagreed with each other more than confused each other. Either way, glad you’re still here. 🙂 Blessings.

    Like

  8. Bobby Grow says:

    Phil,

    Wonderful to hear from you! That is so awesome that you were Paul’s professor. Paul was one of the first to introduce me to Barth as we worked through Paul’s pre-published dissertation in his Church and Culture class in seminary. I’m a huge fan of Metzger and his colleague at Multnomah, Derrick Peterson. I like your label of “eclectic gleaner!” Thanks for revealing yourself. Blessings.

    Like

  9. justsoyouallknowkc says:

    It seems a bit creepy to say, but still, here I lurk away!

    Like

  10. Conguero59 says:

    Thank you for the posts

    Jean Envoyé de mon iPad

    >

    Like

  11. Hi Bobby, I’ve been reading and re-blogging your posts for a little over a year ( I think ). I thoroughly enjoy your perspective, keep up your good work! 😀 Blessings to you and yours!

    Like

  12. Pingback: A Lurker Reveal Post by Bobby Grow — The Evangelical Calvinist @BobbyGrow1 | Talmidimblogging

  13. Anonymous says:

    Always Bobby!! as you know via my FB “Likes” when i remember but sometimes I suppose it is lurking when I forget to comment. I am usually not logged into Academia so not on to comment on the actual blog. 🙂 EnJoying your blog on Geordie’s book on TFT , I am waiting for Amazon to release it as a paperback before I get it. thanks for all your blogs bro.

    Like

  14. Anonymous says:

    Oh that is weird it has that last comment , posted my comment as Anonymous lol…now that is lurky haha. tis Marie here your FB friend downunder. Strange wordpress …it has me logged in as Marie.!!

    Like

  15. Anonymous says:

    Weird wordpress has me as Anonymous on that last comment Bobby lol that makes me “lurkey” haha…tis Marie your FB friend downunder…strange as I am logged in as Marie on wordpress. oh well. 🙂

    Like

  16. Hello and thank you. I don’t just lurk … I read much of what you write and also dip into the archives from time to time. Again, thank you.

    Like

  17. Glenn says:

    Hi Bobbi,

    I have been following your blog(s) since the GES/Lou Martuneac Free Grace wars. I don’t comment but I do like to see what’s happening in your corner of the internet.

    Glenn Weller

    Like

  18. Glenn says:

    Sorry I meant Bobby. My sister’s name is Bobbi and I slipped.

    Glenn

    Like

  19. Grateful Nokar says:

    Hi,
    My name is Grateful. A few years ago, I came across one of your posts on the New Wine New Wineskins Facebook where you shared a bit of your life experience in dealing with cancer. The Christo-centric focus of the theology you set forth in that blog post drew my attention and I have been reading your posts since then.
    Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  20. Kangaroo says:

    Hi Bobby, your blogs rock my socks. Don’t stop. They are like nectar.

    Like

  21. Bruce Symons says:

    Hi Bobby, just lurking but appreciate your posts.

    Like

  22. Peter says:

    Hey bobby,
    my name is Peter, and I found your blog 6 months ago while researching for my dissertation on the Ascension in John Calvin’s theology. Love all the work and thought that goes into everything. Keep up the great work!

    Peter

    Like

  23. Bobby Grow says:

    Kc, awesome you’re still with me brother! Hope all is well!

    Like

  24. Bobby Grow says:

    Marie I knew you were here, you’re not a lurker :). Glad you read!

    Like

  25. Bobby Grow says:

    Albert, Thank you for letting your presence be known! Blessings.

    Like

  26. Bobby Grow says:

    Glenn of course I remember you. Glad you’re still with me too! Wow, you and Kc are old school. 🙂

    Like

  27. Bobby Grow says:

    Grateful wonderful name. I’m so glad you can see the Christocentric focus, that’s always my hope one way or the other. Blessings.

    Like

  28. Bobby Grow says:

    Kangaroo, now part of a reveal is to use your real name ;). Glad the blog edifies at some level. Blessings.

    Like

  29. Bobby Grow says:

    Bruce, Thanks for revealing yourself. Glad you lurk :). Blessings.

    Like

  30. Bobby Grow says:

    Peter, great to be in contact here and now on Twitter. I’ll get you those blogs I was thinking of. The only problem with them is these guys don’t post much anymore. I’ll be back with that. One of them is Kevin Davis’s After Existentialism, Light (he’s in my blogroll) and then the Aberdeeno’s group blog Theology Out of Bounds.

    Like

  31. Bobby Grow says:

    Conguero59, Thank you! Blessings.

    Like

  32. Bobby Grow says:

    Vincent, and of course, how could I not have noticed you! Thanks for linking me all the time. Glad to hear from you in person I was starting to wonder if you weren’t some sort of link machine or something (i.e. aggregator) ;). Blessings.

    Like

  33. donwoodward says:

    Hi Bobby – I live in Portland, OR. I have subscribed to your blog and enjoy reading most of your entries. I’m just a regular guy – not a seminarian or theologian, so I often find myself in deep waters with what you write. I don’t always have much context for the historic theological voices you explore. But I do read quite a bit on my own – I have been greatly influenced by T. Torrance, C. Baxter Kruger, George MacDonald. W. Paul Young, Brad Jersak, Greg Boyd, Richard Rohr, Thomas Merton, Henri Nouwen. Your ideas resonate with me on similar frequencies. I’ve crossed paths with Geordie Ziegler through my involvement with a group in Portland called the Open Table that offers an amazing ongoing conversation about union, relationship, perichoresis and the Divine Dance. Thanks for sharing your writing with us!

    Like

  34. drumsareme says:

    Hi

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Bobby Grow says:

    Hi Don, great to be in contact! I can see how we would resonate given the people you read. I’m friends with Geordie and attend Columbia Presbyterian where he’s on staff. I’ve been to the Open Table Conference. John MacMurray invited me this year to have our new book out on display at the conference but I was unable to make it. Thanks for revealing yourself. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  36. Bobby Grow says:

    Hi Drumsareme :). Thanks for unlurking :).

    Like

  37. I have been reading your posts for about 9 months. I really appreciate your posts and thoughtful perspective, even though I may disagree quite a bit. 😉 Keep it up!

    Like

  38. Brian W Smith says:

    Hi! I am an Evangelical Wesleyan. No theological training. Life long Christian. I have some difficulty following your thoughts. I have dictionary.com open when reading your work and refer to it frequently. I love the Church and try to understand the theology of the various churches.

    Like

  39. Steve says:

    Hi Bobby, this Steve in Woodland – still enjoy the blog and the book reviews. Do you want last year’s JETS? If so, has your address changed?

    Like

  40. Bobby Grow says:

    Sam, welcome, and thanks for unlurking! What do you disagree with in particular? Are you from a different theological tradition; maybe you’re classical Calvinist. 🙂

    Like

  41. Bobby Grow says:

    Brian, glad that you’re here, and thank you for revealing yourself! I used to try and post stuff in the past with more explanation (as far as explaining words etc), but I don’t have the time to hardly ever do that. Blessings.

    Like

  42. Bobby Grow says:

    Steve, hey! Sure, if you want to send JETS my way I’d love to take them off your hands; I appreciate that. Yes, the address is the same. 🙂

    Like

  43. Anthony says:

    Hello. My name is Anthony Ashley and I’ve been reading almost every post you write for years. These writings have had a significant positive impact on my faith. Thanks for writing so regularly!

    Like

  44. Bobby Grow says:

    Anthony, this is very encouraging to hear. Thank you and blessings!

    Like

  45. Hey, I’m new to your blog this year, but, I’m deeply grateful for your reflections. I’m a church planter in Guelph, Ontario Canada, and trying to integrate evangelical calvinism with faithful presence in the neighbourhood!

    Like

  46. Bobby Grow says:

    Glen, I love that! Thanks unlurking, and welcome to the blog! Blessings.

    Like

  47. Hi Bobby! Still here!
    I try not to say too much and usually do anyhow (at least on the TFT Facebook page).
    So I just listen.
    Love ya brother!

    Like

  48. Bobby Grow says:

    Hey Duane. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.